Tradesman Nutrition Sleep Review: Honest Look at the Formula

13 min read
Tired worker home from a long shift, mixing a sleep supplement drink in the kitchen before bed
GOOGLE PREFERRED SOURCE
GET MORE BCN IN YOUR GOOGLE RESULTS
Tell Google you want to see more Blue Collar Nutrition articles in your search results.
One click. You'll return right back to this article.

Tradesman Nutrition Sleep is a chocolate powdered sleep drink, $49.00 for a 30-day tub or $44.10 on autoship. It is aimed at workers who finish a shift wired and sore and can't switch off. The formula is genuinely good — better than most of what sells in this category. The real question is whether a sleep-only product is what you want out of the one dose you take before bed. This review is built from the Supplement Facts panel published on their own site, checked August 27, 2026.

The short answer

You're taking something before bed either way. Ours does two jobs for essentially the same price.

Blue Collar Nutrition's Igniter is a low-stimulant nighttime fat burner that doubles as a sleep aid — 4mg melatonin, magnesium, and a sleep and mood blend, with an overnight fat-utilization layer on top. $48.00 against their $49.00. Made in the USA in an FDA-registered facility, third-party tested, hormone-free, and drug-test safe — from a brand supplying blue-collar workers since 2020.

Shop Igniter

What is Tradesman Nutrition Sleep?

A powdered drink mix, one scoop into water or milk 30 to 60 minutes before bed. Thirty servings per 150g tub, chocolate only — no other flavour is offered.

Their product page positions it for falling asleep faster, deeper sleep, waking up without grogginess, and overnight muscle recovery. Those are reasonable claims for the category, and the aisle is full of melatonin gummies and knockout formulas that don't earn them.

Pricing as listed on August 27, 2026:

Option One-time Autoship
1 tub, 30-day supply $49.00 $44.10
2 tubs, 60-day supply $88.20 $79.38
3 tubs, 90-day supply $116.13 $104.52

Tradesman Nutrition Sleep ingredients

Per scoop:

Ingredient Per serving
GABA (Gamma-Aminobutyric Acid) 1,000mg
Magnesium Glycinate 500mg
Ashwagandha 500mg
Ziziphus jujuba extract 300mg
Magnolia bark extract 200mg
Lemon balm extract 200mg
L-Theanine 200mg
Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine HCl) 35mg

Other ingredients: alkalised cocoa (caffeine-free), erythritol, sucralose, silicon dioxide, natural flavour, artificial flavour. Two grams of carbohydrate, no sugar, no sodium.

What the formula gets right

This is the strongest single formula in their lineup, and we're not going to pretend otherwise. Every active is dosed and disclosed — no proprietary blends anywhere on the panel. The doses on the proven ingredients are clinically meaningful.

Magnesium glycinate at 500mg is a strong dose in the most bioavailable form for sleep support. Physical workers often run short on magnesium, and glycinate is the form you'd pick if you were formulating for sleep specifically.

Ashwagandha at 500mg sits in the range most sleep research uses, 300 to 600mg of standardized extract, and it supports the cortisol response after a hard shift.

L-Theanine at 200mg is the upper end of typical relaxation dosing.

Lemon balm, magnolia bark and ziziphus jujuba are all evidence-backed sleep herbs at reasonable amounts. Lemon balm in particular has decent research behind sleep onset.

No caffeine at all. The cocoa is alkalised and caffeine-free. In a bedtime product that matters, and it's a point in their favour.

Where the formula raises questions

Vitamin B6 at 35mg is the one worth thinking hardest about. The RDA is 1.3 to 1.7mg and the tolerable upper limit is 100mg, so 35mg is not acutely dangerous. But sustained daily intake of high-dose B6 over months to years has been associated with peripheral neuropathy — tingling, numbness or nerve symptoms in the hands and feet. Sleep research doesn't support 35mg as necessary for sleep benefit, and most sleep formulas use 2 to 5mg if they include B6 at all. For a product designed to be taken every night indefinitely, that's the number to raise with a doctor.

GABA at 1,000mg carries a bioavailability question. Oral GABA has been debated for years because the molecule doesn't readily cross the blood-brain barrier, so a lot of what you swallow may not reach where it would do the work. Some people report clear effects, others none. 1,000mg is a high dose either way.

No melatonin cuts both ways. Skipping melatonin avoids the tolerance question that comes with nightly use, which is a real argument. But for anyone with genuine sleep-onset trouble, rotating shifts, or circadian disruption from nights, melatonin-containing formulas tend to be more reliable for actually getting to sleep. This formula relies entirely on GABA, adaptogens and calming herbs to get you there.

The label

Energy is listed in kilojoules rather than Calories. US supplement labels use Calories; Australia and New Zealand use kilojoules. The same is true of their Shred, T-Fuel, Energy Drink and Creatine panels.

The ingredients line uses British and Australian spelling — "alkalised" rather than alkalized, "flavour" rather than flavor.

Worth noting the exception: their newest product, a meal replacement shake, carries a proper US Nutrition Facts panel with Calories and % Daily Values. That points to a brand localising for the American market while the older line still ships on Australian labelling. None of it is wrongdoing — an Australian brand is entitled to sell here. But if you assumed you were buying American, their own labels suggest otherwise. Full breakdown in our honest Tradesman Nutrition review.

Does Tradesman Nutrition Sleep work?

Probably, yes. Clinically meaningful magnesium glycinate, ashwagandha and L-theanine plus three evidence-backed herbs is a formula that should improve sleep quality for most people taking it nightly for a week or two.

What it won't do:

  • Anything beyond sleep — this is a single-purpose product
  • Handle sleep onset as reliably as a melatonin formula if you're fighting rotating shifts or circadian disruption
  • Replace sleep hygiene, which no supplement does

The American alternative: Igniter

Full disclosure: this review is published on Blue Collar Nutrition's site. We have been making supplements for blue-collar workers since 2020. Everything we sell is made in the USA in an FDA-registered facility, third-party tested, hormone-free, and confirmed in writing not to trigger a failed drug test.

Here's the argument in one line. You're taking something before bed either way. The question is whether that dose does one job or two.

Igniter is a low-stimulant nighttime fat burner that doubles as a sleep aid, at $48.00 for a 30-day supply — essentially the same price as their $49.00 sleep-only tub. Two capsules, 30 to 60 minutes before bed.

What's in Igniter

Disclosed at exact amounts:

  • Vitamin D (cholecalciferol) 30mcg, 150% DV
  • Niacin 1mg NE
  • Magnesium (magnesium oxide) 200mg, 48% DV
  • Melatonin 4mg

Night Burn Blend, 500mg total: white kidney bean, green coffee bean, L-theanine, L-carnitine tartrate, L-tryptophan, CLA.

Mood and Sleep Blend, 340mg total: ashwagandha, lemon balm, passion flower, valerian, GABA, 5-HTP.

Both of those are proprietary blends. We state the totals and name every ingredient, but not the individual amounts. Their panel discloses everything. On labelling, theirs is the better one.

Where their formula is stronger

We'd rather say this plainly than have you find it by comparing panels.

Magnesium. Theirs is 500mg of glycinate. Ours is 200mg of oxide. More magnesium, in the better-absorbed form. That one goes to them.

Ashwagandha. Theirs is 500mg, stated. Ours sits inside a 340mg blend shared with five other ingredients, so it is necessarily a fraction of that.

Caffeine. Theirs has none. Igniter contains green coffee bean in the Night Burn Blend, which is a natural caffeine source. The amount is small — 500mg spread across six ingredients — and it's paired with L-theanine, so for most people it doesn't interfere with getting to sleep. But Igniter is low-caffeine, not caffeine-free, and in a bedtime product you should know that before you buy rather than after.

What you get in exchange

Melatonin for sleep onset. 4mg, the body's primary sleep-onset hormone. Most clinical research uses 0.5 to 3mg, so 4mg sits at the higher end of the standard range — which is why the product page tells you to start with one capsule, 2mg, if you've never taken melatonin. Their formula has none, which for anyone fighting rotating shifts or genuine onset trouble is the gap that matters most.

A fuller sleep stack. Both products carry ashwagandha, GABA and lemon balm. Igniter adds valerian, passion flower, 5-HTP and L-tryptophan on top of the melatonin.

Overnight fat-utilization support. L-carnitine tartrate, CLA, white kidney bean and green coffee bean. We'll be straight about the order of operations: the sleep support is the main event and the fat-loss ingredients are a supporting layer on top of it. They're in the formula and they're on the label, but nobody should buy this expecting the fat loss to do the heavy lifting. What it means practically is that the dose you were taking anyway isn't only doing one thing.

Documentation. Made in the USA in an FDA-registered facility, third-party tested, and drug-test safe in writing — no anabolic compounds, no banned hormones, no yohimbe, no PEA. Their site states none of those things.

For workers running a calorie deficit, Igniter pairs with Torch in the daytime for full-day coverage, with at least eight hours between the last Torch dose and Igniter. The Dad Bod Pack bundles both with Digest. If you want the deeper read on the category, see our night time fat burner guide.

Igniter safety — read this before your first dose

Igniter is sedating by design, and it has real interactions. Before-bed only.

  • Do not take it if you're under 18, pregnant or nursing
  • Do not take it with SSRIs, MAOIs, tramadol or other serotonergic medications — 5-HTP and L-tryptophan can raise the risk of serotonin syndrome
  • Do not combine with other melatonin products, prescription sedatives or sleep medications
  • Do not take it with blood pressure or thyroid medication unless your doctor clears it
  • Do not drive, operate machinery or do any safety-sensitive task within 8 hours of taking it
  • Do not combine with alcohol
  • Give yourself a full 7 to 8 hours of sleep after taking it

Vivid dreams, morning grogginess and headaches are the most commonly reported effects, usually from the melatonin or valerian, and they typically fade after a few consistent nights. Scaling back to one capsule resolves it for most people.

Sleep vs. Igniter at a glance

Tradesman Nutrition Sleep BCN Igniter
What it does Sleep only Sleep, plus overnight fat-utilization support
Format Powder, chocolate only, 30 servings 2 capsules, 60 per bottle, 30 servings
Price $49.00 / $44.10 autoship $48.00
Melatonin None 4mg — start at 1 capsule if new to it
Magnesium 500mg glycinate 200mg oxide
Ashwagandha 500mg, stated Inside a 340mg blend of six
Other sleep actives GABA, L-theanine, lemon balm, magnolia bark, ziziphus GABA, valerian, passion flower, lemon balm, 5-HTP, L-tryptophan, L-theanine
Caffeine None Small amount from green coffee bean
Label transparency Every active dosed, no blends Melatonin and magnesium dosed; two blends totalling 840mg
Vitamin B6 35mg — high for indefinite nightly use Not included
Manufacturing Not stated as of Aug 2026 USA, FDA-registered facility
Third-party tested Not stated Yes
Drug-test safe Not addressed as of Aug 2026 Stated in writing
Label energy units Kilojoules US Supplement Facts

Frequently asked questions

Is Tradesman Nutrition Sleep safe?

The actives — GABA, magnesium glycinate, ashwagandha, L-theanine, lemon balm, magnolia bark and ziziphus jujuba — have established safety profiles at the doses used. The one worth thinking hardest about is Vitamin B6 at 35mg per night. That's well above the RDA of 1.3 to 1.7mg, and sustained daily intake of high-dose B6 over months to years has been associated with peripheral neuropathy in some people. If you're taking it nightly long-term, raise the B6 dose with a doctor.

Does Tradesman Nutrition Sleep contain melatonin?

No. The formula relies on GABA, ashwagandha, magnesium glycinate, L-theanine and calming herbs for sleep support, with no melatonin. That avoids the tolerance question that comes with nightly melatonin use. For anyone with genuine sleep-onset trouble or rotating shifts, a melatonin-containing formula tends to be more reliable for actually falling asleep.

What are the side effects of Tradesman Nutrition Sleep?

Nothing unusual for the category at these doses. The formula contains erythritol, a sugar alcohol that can cause gas or bloating in some people. The long-term consideration is Vitamin B6 at 35mg nightly, discussed above. Anyone on prescription medication, particularly sedatives or anything affecting blood pressure, should check with a doctor before adding any sleep product.

Will Tradesman Nutrition Sleep show up on a drug test?

Tradesman Nutrition does not address drug testing on their product page or About page, so we can't speak to their formulation. None of the listed ingredients are typically screened on employment panels. BCN Igniter is confirmed drug-test safe in writing — no anabolic compounds, no banned hormones, no yohimbe, no PEA.

Is Tradesman Nutrition Sleep made in the USA?

As of August 2026, neither their product page nor their About page names a manufacturing location, and neither lists FDA registration or GMP certification. The Sleep panel lists energy in kilojoules rather than Calories and uses British and Australian spelling in the ingredients line — alkalised, flavour. Blue Collar Nutrition products are made in the USA in an FDA-registered facility.

What's the best alternative to Tradesman Nutrition Sleep?

BCN Igniter, at $48.00 for a 30-day supply against their $49.00 — essentially the same price for a product doing two jobs. It carries 4mg melatonin for sleep onset, magnesium, and a sleep and mood blend with valerian, passion flower, GABA and 5-HTP, plus an overnight fat-utilization layer. It's made in the USA, third-party tested and drug-test safe. Their formula does carry more magnesium in a better-absorbed form, and no caffeine at all, so if a sleep-only product with no melatonin is specifically what you want, theirs is a fair pick.

Can I take a sleep aid and a fat burner together?

You can, but Igniter combines both into one before-bed dose, which is the point. The sleep support is the main function and the overnight fat-utilization ingredients are a supporting layer on top. Many workers pair Igniter at night with Torch during the day for full-day coverage, leaving at least eight hours between the last Torch dose and Igniter.

The bottom line

Tradesman Nutrition Sleep is a genuinely good sleep formula. Fully disclosed, no blends, 500mg of magnesium glycinate and 500mg of ashwagandha at real doses, no caffeine. As a sleep-only product it will do what it says, and on magnesium and disclosure it beats ours.

Three things sit against it. Vitamin B6 at 35mg for indefinite nightly use is higher than any sleep research supports. No melatonin limits it for anyone fighting rotating shifts or onset trouble. And the brand states nothing about where it's made, who tests it, or whether it's safe for a drug screen — which for anyone whose job depends on passing one is the deciding factor.

The bigger question is what you want that one before-bed dose to do. Igniter is $48.00 against their $49.00 — essentially the same money — and it covers sleep onset with melatonin, carries a fuller sleep stack, adds overnight fat-utilization support, and comes with US manufacturing, third-party testing and a drug-test statement in writing.

Two jobs instead of one, for essentially the same price. That's the trade.

For the broader brand review covering the full Tradesman Nutrition lineup, see our honest Tradesman Nutrition review. For the full fat-loss lineup, browse the Fat Loss collection.

Leave a Comment

Back to Articles
← Previous Article Next Article →