OmegaXL Review: The Label, the Dosage, and What It Really Costs

19 min read
OmegaXL supplement facts panel next to Blue Collar Nutrition Joint supplement facts

The Short Version

OmegaXL is green-lipped mussel oil, not fish oil. The 60ct bottle is $59.95 and holds 30 servings of 2 softgels — but their own label says to take 4 softgels daily for the first eight weeks, which turns that bottle into a 15-day supply and the loading phase into a $200-plus commitment no matter which size you buy. The active is a 300mg proprietary blend that also contains two olive oils and vitamin E, with no mussel oil amount and no EPA or DHA broken out. The ingredient itself is legitimate. The label just won't tell you your dose. Full pricing across all three sizes below, plus a straight comparison with Blue Collar Nutrition Joint — including where they beat us.

If you've watched daytime TV in the last decade you've seen the OmegaXL commercial. Larry King, then John Walsh, sitting across from someone explaining that this isn't fish oil, it's something better, from mussels in New Zealand.

The pitch works. OmegaXL has over a thousand reviews on its own site and Great HealthWorks has been selling it since 2003. What almost nobody does is open the supplement facts panel, read the suggested use, and multiply.

That's this article. We sell a competing joint formula and we're saying so in the second paragraph rather than the last one. But this isn't a hit piece — the green-lipped mussel research is real, their bulk pricing is better than most reviews admit, and there's a specific group for whom OmegaXL is the better buy than ours. We'll say exactly who, and we'll show the one number where they beat us.

Is OmegaXL Fish Oil?

No, and this is the most common confusion about the product.

OmegaXL is an oil extract from the New Zealand green-lipped mussel, Perna canaliculus, standardized as PCSO-524. Mussels are shellfish, not fish. The extract does contain omega-3s including EPA and DHA, which is why it gets shelved next to fish oil, but it also contains fatty acid types that standard fish oil doesn't — ETA and OTA among them.

That difference is the entire basis of their pitch, and it's a fair one. Green-lipped mussel oil appears to work on joint comfort through a different route than a plain fish oil capsule. If you've taken fish oil for your knees and felt nothing, this is a genuinely different input.

It also means the dose comparison isn't apples to apples, which we'll get to.

What's Actually on the OmegaXL Label

Straight from the panel on their product page. Serving size 2 soft gels, 30 servings per 60-count bottle. The 90ct and 300ct use the same formula, just more of it.

Ingredient Amount per serving % DV
OmegaXL Proprietary Blend
Green-Lipped Mussel (Perna canaliculus) Oil Extract (PCSO-524) containing Omega Fatty Acids, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Pure Olive Oil, d-alpha Tocopherol (Vitamin E)
300 mg

Other ingredients: gelatin, glycerin, purified water. Gluten free and dairy free per the box.

That's the whole formula. One line.

The 300mg Number Deserves a Closer Look

Three hundred milligrams is the total blend, and the blend contains four things: the mussel oil extract, extra virgin olive oil, pure olive oil, and vitamin E.

The label does not say how much of the 300mg is mussel oil. It could be most of it with a splash of olive oil as a carrier, or considerably less. There's no way to tell from the panel, and the olive oil isn't there for your joints — it's a carrier and a stabilizer.

The panel also breaks out no EPA and no DHA amounts. Their marketing talks about more than 30 fatty acids, which is true of the extract, but "containing Omega Fatty Acids" with no numbers is not a dose.

For scale: a standard fish oil softgel typically lists 500 to 1,000mg of EPA and DHA combined, right on the label. OmegaXL's entire blend — mussel oil, both olive oils, and vitamin E together — is 300mg per serving.

That's not a gotcha. The mussel-oil argument is that potency per milligram is higher and the fatty acid profile is different, so a smaller number can still do work. That argument may well be right. But you can't evaluate it, because the number you'd need isn't printed.

Worth being precise here rather than sweeping: this is a criticism of the OmegaXL panel specifically, not of the company's labeling generally. Their HeartXL product, for instance, breaks out 420mg of an omega-7 blend yielding 210mg palmitoleic acid — an actual disclosed active. They know how to print a number. They've chosen not to on this one.

How to Take OmegaXL

This is where the product gets expensive, and it's stated plainly on their own label:

Take two servings (4 soft gels) daily for the first eight weeks. After eight weeks, you may maintain the same benefits with one serving (2 soft gels) daily.

Two phases:

  • Weeks 1–8 (loading): 4 softgels per day
  • Week 9 onward (maintenance): 2 softgels per day

A 60-softgel bottle is described as a 30-day supply, and at the maintenance dose it is. At the loading dose it is a 15-day supply. Here's how each size shakes out:

Size Loading (4/day) Maintenance (2/day)
60 count 15 days 30 days
90 count 22 days 45 days
300 count 75 days 150 days

Take it with a meal. Their label suggests all four at once or two morning and two night, whichever you'll actually stick to. Their own copy is blunt that this isn't an as-needed product — it has to be daily to do anything, which is true of the whole category.

What OmegaXL Really Costs

Prices direct from OmegaXL. Each size has a one-time price and a lower auto-ship price.

Size One-time Auto-ship
60 count $59.95 $49.95
90 count $69.95 $65.95
300 count $221.95 $199.95 (ships every 90 days)

Now the part that matters — cost per day, split by phase, because the loading dose doubles your consumption.

Size Loading, one-time Loading, auto-ship Maintenance, one-time Maintenance, auto-ship
60 count $4.00 $3.33 $2.00 $1.67
90 count $3.11 $2.93 $1.55 $1.47
300 count $2.96 $2.67 $1.48 $1.33

The eight-week loading phase costs about $200 minimum. Fifty-six days at 4 softgels is 224 softgels. On the 60ct that's four bottles — $239.80 one-time, $199.80 on auto-ship. On the 90ct it's three bottles — $209.85 or $197.85. On the 300ct a single bottle covers the whole loading phase with 76 softgels left over, for $221.95 or $199.95.

Whichever route you take, following their protocol as written costs roughly $200 before you reach the maintenance dose. The $59.95 sticker price is real, it's just not what the first two months cost.

Credit where it's due: the 300ct is genuinely the honest value in their lineup, not a fake bulk discount. It covers the entire loading phase in one purchase and settles at $1.33 a day ongoing. If you're going to commit to OmegaXL, that's the size to buy.

Two caveats on their pricing. Their own footnotes state the auto-ship rate applies to the first order, and that "products, pricing, and/or quantities for subsequent orders may be different from first order" — so don't assume the introductory rate is permanent. And all prices exclude shipping and tax, though auto-ship includes free shipping and orders over $49 ship free anyway.

OmegaXL vs Blue Collar Nutrition Joint

Both panels as published. Two different approaches, not a scorecard.

OmegaXL BCN Joint
Serving 2 soft gels 3 capsules (full panel serving)
Bottle 60 / 90 / 300 softgels 60 capsules / 20 full servings
Active total 300mg proprietary blend 2,100mg across 8 broken-out ingredients
Glucosamine Sulfate None 1,500mg
Boswellia serrata None 200mg
Chondroitin Sulfate None 150mg
Turmeric (root) None — sold separately as TurmericXL 150mg
Quercetin None 25mg
MSM None 25mg
Bromelain None 25mg
Methionine None 25mg
Green-lipped mussel oil Yes, amount not disclosed None
Loading phase 8 weeks at double dose None
Allergens Stated free of shellfish protein; gluten and dairy free Contains shellfish (crayfish)
Price $59.95 to $221.95 by size $34.99, or $29.74 on subscription
Best ongoing $/day $1.33 (300ct auto-ship) $1.49 full dose / $0.99 lighter dose, on subscription
First 8 weeks ~$199.80 to $239.80 ~$104.97, or ~$89.22 on subscription

Four honest readings.

On ongoing cost at full dose, they beat us. Their 300ct on auto-ship is $1.33 a day. Our full three-capsule serving is $1.49 a day on subscription. We only come out ahead if you drop to the lighter two-capsule dose, and we'd rather show you that than hide it.

On the first eight weeks, it isn't close. Their loading protocol means roughly $200 before you reach normal pricing. Ours is about $105, or $89 on subscription, with no loading phase — the same dose from day one.

On what's in the bottle, these aren't the same product. Ours is glucosamine and chondroitin with boswellia, turmeric, MSM, and bromelain layered on, every ingredient printed with its own milligram amount. Theirs is one undisclosed mussel oil dose. Neither is a version of the other.

Our bottle is 20 full servings, not 30. Three capsules a day out of a 60-count bottle. We'd rather tell you here than have you work it out in month two.

How to Take Blue Collar Nutrition Joint

Since we're being specific about their dosing, here's ours, straight from the product page.

Two to three capsules daily with water, ideally with food.

  • 3 capsules is the full panel serving. It delivers 1,500mg of glucosamine — the amount used in clinical research. One bottle lasts about 20 days.
  • 2 capsules is a lighter maintenance dose delivering 1,000mg of glucosamine, which is below the studied amount. One bottle lasts about 30 days.

We list both because people ask, and we'd rather be straight that the lighter dose is lighter than pretend 1,000mg and 1,500mg are the same thing. If you want the researched dose, take three.

Best in the morning with breakfast. Turmeric absorbs better alongside some fat — eggs, avocado, olive oil, full-fat dairy. Give it at least eight weeks before judging, with the fuller picture over two to four months. Daily consistency matters more than peak dose.

The Shellfish Question, Where They Win Outright

This one matters more than price, so it gets its own section.

Blue Collar Nutrition Joint contains shellfish. Our glucosamine is crayfish-derived and the label says so: CONTAINS: Shellfish (Crayfish). If you have a shellfish allergy, do not take our product.

OmegaXL is made from mussels, which are shellfish — but their label states the product is free of shellfish protein, because the allergenic component is the protein and their extract is an oil. That's a real distinction and it's why some people with shellfish sensitivities can take it.

We're not going to spin this. If shellfish is the deciding factor, theirs is the product that can accommodate you and ours isn't. Talk to your doctor either way — "free of shellfish protein" is a manufacturing claim, not medical clearance for your own allergy.

A Word on the Marketing

OmegaXL's advertising promises less joint pain, less stiffness, better mobility, and in places describes the product as an anti-inflammatory. Those are strong claims for a dietary supplement, and stronger than any supplement company should be making.

For our part, Joint is a support formula. It supports joint comfort, mobility, and cartilage. It is not a treatment for arthritis or any other condition, and if your knees or shoulders are genuinely bad, the honest advice is to see a doctor rather than shop.

You'll also see "OmegaXL reviews Mayo Clinic" as a common search. Mayo Clinic has not reviewed or endorsed OmegaXL. Some large medical sites carry general information about green-lipped mussel as an ingredient, which is a different thing from an institutional review of a branded product.

Who Each One Is For

Buy OmegaXL if: you have a shellfish allergy and need to avoid shellfish protein; you've already tried glucosamine or chondroitin and got nothing, so a different mechanism is worth the money; or you want green-lipped mussel oil specifically and can put $221.95 down for the 300ct, which is the only size where the price genuinely works.

Buy Blue Collar Nutrition Joint if: you want to know exactly how many milligrams of each ingredient you're taking; you'd rather have glucosamine at the researched 1,500mg with boswellia, chondroitin, turmeric, MSM, and bromelain behind it; or you don't want to spend $200 during the two months you're still deciding whether something works.

Buy the Joint Support Pack if you want omega-3s in the mix too. It pairs Joint with our Omega at $54.99, or $46.74 on subscription — and unlike OmegaXL, the Omega label breaks everything out: 1,200mg fish oil, 720mg omega-3, 432mg EPA, 288mg DHA per softgel. Note the Omega contains fish (anchovy), a different allergen from shellfish.

Buy neither yet if the pain is getting worse, waking you up, or changing how you walk. That's a doctor conversation, not a supplement decision.

How Long Before Anything Happens

Both products rest on the same premise: daily use, compounding slowly. OmegaXL's own instruction is eight weeks at the loading dose before dropping down. Glucosamine research generally looks at 8 to 12 weeks. Our own guidance is eight weeks minimum, two to four months for the fuller picture.

So plan on two months before you judge either one, and understand going in that a meaningful share of people don't respond to joint supplements at all. Anyone promising a difference in days is selling something other than science.

The Bottom Line

OmegaXL is a real product built on a real ingredient. Green-lipped mussel oil has decades of research and a mechanism that genuinely differs from glucosamine, and for people who've struck out on conventional joint supplements that's worth something. Their 300ct is fairly priced and their subscription rate is competitive with anyone's.

What the product isn't is transparent, or cheap to start. The active sits inside a 300mg blend alongside two olive oils, the label won't tell you how much mussel oil you're getting, and the eight-week loading protocol means about $200 before you reach the price on the label.

Read the panel, read the suggested use, and multiply before you buy. That applies to our label as much as theirs — which is why ours prints every number, including the ones that don't flatter us.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is OmegaXL fish oil?
No. OmegaXL is an oil extract from the New Zealand green-lipped mussel (Perna canaliculus), standardized as PCSO-524. Mussels are shellfish, not fish. The extract does contain omega-3s including EPA and DHA, plus fatty acid types not found in standard fish oil, which is the basis of the brand's claim that it works differently.

What is actually in OmegaXL?
One active line: a 300mg OmegaXL Proprietary Blend per 2-softgel serving, containing green-lipped mussel oil extract (PCSO-524), extra virgin olive oil, pure olive oil, and d-alpha tocopherol (vitamin E). Other ingredients are gelatin, glycerin, and purified water. The label does not disclose how much of the 300mg is mussel oil, and lists no EPA or DHA amounts.

How many OmegaXL should I take per day?
Their label says two servings — 4 soft gels — daily for the first eight weeks, then one serving of 2 soft gels daily for maintenance. Take it with a meal. All four at once or split morning and evening both work.

How long does a bottle of OmegaXL last?
Depends on the phase. At the eight-week loading dose of 4 softgels daily: 15 days for the 60ct, 22 days for the 90ct, 75 days for the 300ct. At the maintenance dose of 2 softgels daily: 30, 45, and 150 days respectively.

What does OmegaXL cost per day?
At one-time pricing: the 60ct ($59.95) is $4.00 a day loading and $2.00 maintenance; the 90ct ($69.95) is $3.11 and $1.55; the 300ct ($221.95) is $2.96 and $1.48. Auto-ship pricing brings the 300ct down to $1.33 a day on maintenance, the cheapest rate in their lineup.

How much does the OmegaXL loading phase cost?
About $200 minimum. Eight weeks at 4 softgels daily is 224 softgels. That's four 60ct bottles ($239.80 one-time, $199.80 auto-ship), three 90ct bottles ($209.85 or $197.85), or one 300ct bottle ($221.95 or $199.95) with softgels left over.

Which size of OmegaXL is the best value?
The 300ct. It covers the entire eight-week loading phase in a single purchase and settles at $1.48 per day one-time or $1.33 on auto-ship, versus $2.00 and $1.67 for the 60ct. The bulk discount is real rather than cosmetic. The trade-off is $221.95 upfront.

Why is OmegaXL so expensive?
Two reasons. The 60ct sticker price is $59.95, higher than most joint supplements. And the eight-week loading protocol doubles your consumption during exactly the period when you're deciding whether it works, so the first two months cost around $200 rather than $120.

Does OmegaXL really work for joint pain?
The ingredient has support behind it. PCSO-524 green-lipped mussel extract has been studied since the 1970s and works through a different route than glucosamine or collagen, which is why some people respond to it after other supplements did nothing. What can't be assessed from the label is your dose, since the mussel oil amount sits inside a 300mg blend with two olive oils. And as with every joint supplement, a meaningful share of people don't respond at all.

Are there OmegaXL side effects?
Their materials describe no known side effects when taken as directed, and an oil extract is generally well tolerated. The practical cautions match any marine oil product: mild digestive upset if taken without food, and a conversation with your doctor first if you're on blood thinners. Their label advises against use during pregnancy and nursing.

Can I take OmegaXL if I have a shellfish allergy?
OmegaXL states its product is free of shellfish protein, since the allergenic component of shellfish is the protein and their product is an oil extract. That's why some people with shellfish sensitivities are able to take it. It's a manufacturing claim rather than medical clearance, so ask your doctor first. Blue Collar Nutrition Joint, by contrast, contains shellfish (crayfish-derived glucosamine) and should be avoided entirely with a shellfish allergy.

Is OmegaXL a scam?
No. It's a real product with a real ingredient, sold since 2003 by an established company with a return policy and a BBB listing. The fair criticisms are that the proprietary blend hides the mussel oil dose, the advertising makes claims stronger than a supplement should, and the loading protocol makes the true first-two-month cost far higher than the advertised price. Those are transparency and value problems, not fraud.

Does OmegaXL make other products?
Yes, and they're not interchangeable. OmegaXL is the green-lipped mussel joint formula, sold in 60, 90, and 300 counts. OmegaXL Sport is a double-strength version of the same mussel oil aimed at exercise recovery. Then there's a separate line under the XL name — HeartXL and HeartXL Advanced, TurmericXL, SleepXL, MemoryXL, MenopauseXL, ProbioticXL, and VitaminXL C and D3 — none of which are joint products. If you're shopping for joint support, OmegaXL is the one from their range.

Has Mayo Clinic reviewed OmegaXL?
No. Mayo Clinic has not reviewed or endorsed OmegaXL. Large medical reference sites publish general information about green-lipped mussel as an ingredient, which is not the same as an institutional review of a branded product.

Where can you buy OmegaXL?
Direct from the manufacturer, Great HealthWorks in Fort Lauderdale, and through retailers including Amazon, Walmart, and Walgreens. Direct pricing runs $59.95 for 60ct, $69.95 for 90ct, and $221.95 for 300ct, with lower auto-ship rates on each. Retailer pricing varies and multi-bottle listings are common.

Is OmegaXL or Blue Collar Nutrition Joint better?
They're different formulas rather than better and worse versions of one thing. OmegaXL is a single undisclosed dose of green-lipped mussel oil, free of shellfish protein, and its 300ct on auto-ship is $1.33 per day — cheaper than our full dose. Joint is glucosamine sulfate 1,500mg with boswellia 200mg, chondroitin 150mg, turmeric 150mg, plus quercetin, MSM, bromelain, and methionine, every ingredient individually dosed, at $34.99 or $29.74 on subscription with no loading phase. Ours costs about half as much over the first eight weeks; theirs is slightly cheaper long-term at full dose. Shellfish allergy points to theirs. Wanting to know your doses points to ours.

How many capsules of Blue Collar Nutrition Joint should I take?
Two to three daily with food. Three is the full panel serving at 1,500mg of glucosamine, the amount used in clinical research, and a bottle lasts about 20 days. Two is a lighter maintenance dose at 1,000mg, below the studied amount, and a bottle lasts about 30 days. There's no loading phase either way.

Will a joint supplement cause a failed drug test?
No. Blue Collar Nutrition Joint is natural and hormone-free, and contains no amphetamines or substances that would trigger a failed drug test, whether for employment, bodybuilding, or any other purpose.

Can I take a joint supplement with prescription medications?
Talk to your doctor first, particularly if you're on blood thinners. Turmeric, bromelain, and marine oils can all affect clotting. This applies to any product in this category, ours included.

Blue Collar Nutrition

Every Number
Printed On The Label

Glucosamine 1,500mg — the researched dose. Boswellia 200mg, chondroitin, turmeric, MSM, bromelain. No proprietary blend, no eight-week loading phase.

$34.99  or  $29.74 on subscribe & save

Shop Joint

Easy Returns  ·  30-Day Guarantee  ·  Free Shipping $99+

Or Add The Omega-3s

The Joint Support Pack pairs Joint with our Omega — 1,200mg fish oil, 720mg omega-3, 432mg EPA, 288mg DHA per softgel, all printed. $54.99, or $46.74 on subscription. Contains fish (anchovy).

See The Pack

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Blue Collar Nutrition Joint contains shellfish (crayfish). Consult your physician before use, particularly if you are taking blood thinners or other prescription medications, or if you are pregnant or nursing. Competitor pricing and label details verified September 2026 and subject to change.

Leave a Comment

Back to Articles
← Previous Article Next Article →